cxm's Reviews

    Product/Brand

    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

    ISS Research Micellar Matrix (Meal Replacement & Protein)
    Wednesday, 30 April 2008

    Overall rating
    4.3
    Taste
    5
    Mixes well
    4
    Anti-catabolic
    4
    Value for money
    4
    Micellar Matrix TASTE= Overall 9.25/10

    1) With water(8oz) the flavoring is pretty good, a slight thicker than your typical whey shake, it's expected since there is at least 45 micellar casein. I can describe the flavor as a sweet banana flavor, no artificial/chemical aftertaste. 9/10

    2) With milk(8oz) wow really thick I needed to add ~4oz more of milk to lower the sweetness. Micellar matrix had a pretty close taste to adding a real banana to milk, I added some almonds and awesome taste. The milk definitely makes it go up in taste, just like many other proteins. 9.5/10

    MIXABILITY= Overall 8.5/10

    1) Using 1 scoop with water(8oz) I need to give several swirls but keep in mind this is primarily a micellar casein product, which is expected. There were some very small clumps left, but I just ate those. 9/10

    2) Using 1 scoop with milk(8oz) needed to add more milk for it to mix better, and took more swirls with spoon to mix, but expected since milk is thicker than water. I preferred to use the ultimate shaker for milk and a clump free experience. 8/10


    INGREDIENTS/QUALITY/VALUE= Overall 9/10

    Obviously this starts with a quality ingredient that is used in MRP's and nighttime protein's. The first ingredient is micellar casein (45%) in their blend, this type of protein is expensive and only second to hydrolyzed proteins. Also has a blend of whey concentrate, whey isolate and egg white, all good ingredients and no soy protein (which I don't care for).

    You are definitely getting your money's worth at $26.98 for 35 servings at 25g of protein per scoop. Compare it with the competition, if not the lowest, one of lowest priced micellar casein(primarily) product out there.

    You can use this as mentioned above, an MRP if you add some complex carbs and good fats. Add skim milk, peanut butter and 1 scoop of Micellar matrix, have a delicious pre-bed meal or use it for a breakfast shake. The flexibility of Micellar matrix is one of it's best attributes. I definitely see myself buying this product in the future and I recommend you try it.

    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

    Omega Sports Power Jolt (Energy)
    Wednesday, 30 April 2008

    Overall rating
    3.4
    Physical energy
    4
    Endurance
    4
    Thermogenic effect
    2
    Length of effects
    4
    Focus
    4
    Alertness
    3
    Mental energy
    4
    Value for money
    4
    Power Jolt 1. Effectivness 7/10
    The first time I used two capsules to determine strength, they were taken pre-workout (weightlifting). I noticed an increase in concentration, drive and overall good mood. I then took 4 caps a day for two weeks and noticed on the 10th day a drop in stimulatory effects. I stopped for 4 days and then used for cardio exclusively. The results were good, since I only do cardio 3 times a week this would not give my body time to adapt.

    2. Price 8/10
    Not bad for $18.00, most other stims are more expensive. The only stim which is cheaper is an E/C stack.

    3. Overall 7.5/10
    After using this for weightlifting and cardio, this would be the ideal for cardio in my opinion. I have taken different stims like (E/C stack, yohobimine, synephedrine) and Power Jolt never gave me a crash in energy like the others mentioned above. I have a medium tolerance for stims, so I need something like ephedrine to give me a jolt, for people who have a low tolerance to stims I recommend they give Power Jolt a try. I will definitely have a bottle of this in my stash for cardio since I run at night, and suprisingly does not affect my sleep paterns.

    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

    VPX Zero Carb Protein (Meal Replacement & Protein)
    Wednesday, 30 April 2008

    Overall rating
    4.5
    Taste
    5
    Mixes well
    5
    Value for money
    4
    Zero Carb Protein Taste: 10/10
    -Flavor
    Absolutely unique flavor, the first sip is sweet strawberry and then it becomes a tangy kiwi flavor. The balance is just perfect in my opinion.

    -Strength
    This is the only flavor that reminds me of GF-pro's blueberry strong taste, the first time you taste it. Kiwi strawberry is very good at masking any protein aftertaste with just water. I almost feel like mixing it with some vodka.

    Mixability: 9/10
    Similar to GF pro in regarding its mixability, just needs a couple of more swirls with the spoon and it will dissolve.

    Value: 10/10
    At $13.99 per jug, this was a steal...keep in mind I bought it clearanced. I will buy it again in the 4.4lb container at regular price.

    Overall: 10/10
    I am giving this product a 10 overall due to the flavoring and I dont care if some people think flavoring is not that important. An ok protein in regards to flavor gets old in a month, thus why it's important you enjoy the taste to maintain consistency. I highly recommend kiwi-strawberry for anybody who likes a tangy-sweet flavor.

    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

    Champion Nutrition Pure Whey Protein Stack (Meal Replacement & Protein)
    Wednesday, 30 April 2008

    Overall rating
    4.7
    Taste
    5
    Mixes well
    5
    Value for money
    5
    Pure Whey Protein Stack Taste: 9/10
    I have mixed this protein with just water and the taste is very good. You can smell the banana flavor and it's flavor is not an artificial one too. Considering this a concentrate/isolate blend there was not protein aftertaste. If you use milk the taste is simply awesome.

    Mixability: 10/10
    All I needed is a spoon and 6-8oz of water per scoop. A couple of swirls and it completely mixed with no problem. I also used milk, again a couple of more swirls and completely dissolved.

    Value: 10/10
    This is an excellent value at $25.99 for 5 pounds, you get 71 servings at $0.37 a serving. Keep in mind this is a whey concentrate/isolate blend.

    Overall: 9.66/10
    I am extremely happy with Pure Whey, I have tried other banana flavors and their taste was weak and artificial. I really can't ask for more from a whey concentrate/isolate blend at this price. I will try the other flavors and highly recommend this flavor for people who like bananas.

    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

    Xtreme Formulations Ultra Peptide (Meal Replacement & Protein)
    Wednesday, 30 April 2008

    Overall rating
    4.5
    Taste
    5
    Mixes well
    5
    Safety
    5
    Anti-catabolic
    5
    Value for money
    4
    Ultra Peptide Taste: 10/10
    This is best tasting chocolate protein I have had to date, no protein aftertaste. I am not a chocolate lover, but this is a treat by itself with water and even better with milk.

    Mixability: 9.5/10
    This mixes fairly well with just a spoon, no large clumps like other casein products. It does however leave very small clumps but can be dissolved completely with a couple more swirls.

    Value: 9/10
    For $27.79 it's not cheap, but keep in mind the first ingredient and majority is micellar casein and MC is not cheap. The second ingredient is whey isolate microfiltered which is the best version of isolate, because it does not loose the growth sub-fractions in contrast to ion exchanged.

    Overall: 9.5/10
    You really can't go wrong with Ultra Peptide, the taste is second to none, the mixability is excellent for a casein blend, and the ingredients are top knotch. I will definitely have this in my stash and alternate between vanilla and chocolate.

Most Viewed

1. Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey Protein Gold Standard
Meal Replacement & Protein
4.0
Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey Protein Gold Standard
 
2. RPN Havoc
Muscle & Strength
4.1
RPN Havoc
 
3. 1,3-Dimethylamylamine
Energy
3.8
1,3-Dimethylamylamine
 
4. CytoSport Muscle Milk Light
Meal Replacement & Protein
4.3
CytoSport Muscle Milk Light
 
5. Scivation Xtend
Energy
4.1
Scivation Xtend
 
6. Cellucor C4 Extreme
Energy
4.3
Cellucor C4 Extreme
 
7. USP Labs Recreate
Weight & Fat Loss
4.0
USP Labs Recreate
 
8. Universal Animal Test
Muscle & Strength
3.8
Universal Animal Test
 
9. Controlled Labs White Flood
Energy
4.0
Controlled Labs White Flood
 
10. Driven Sports Activate Xtreme
Muscle & Strength
4.3
Driven Sports Activate Xtreme
 

Photos

No Public Photos Available